X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

fronts popping

Old 01-09-2010, 09:23 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking fronts popping

I seem to have to replace my front bulbs quite a bit.I have only had the car six months or so and replaced 3 fronts so far and on way to buy fourth..gonna try local auto shop,for the bulb figure i should find it.I have fixed the pulling problem.Broken tread and underinflation...wow im a noob.I dont think i have a short on the lights but assume they just go due to the poor electrical planning when engineering the car IDK,,any help...Thanx THERMO in advance.

Old 01-09-2010, 10:14 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I also have a 2004 XType and have yet to change any of the lights on the front of my car, and I have owned it for many years already.

In your case there has to be a short some place, possibly an exposed wire that is touching metal causing it to blow out your lights. OR a bad ground for the lights, even a bad light socket itself.

Take it to a professional and have them check all the wiring, unless you have the patience to trace them yourself..

GL

Old 01-09-2010, 02:29 PM
Veteran Member
Received 119 Likes on 113 Posts

Irish, it's most likely going to be your bulb connectors. If you've got the original one piece connectors and H1 bulbs look for any signs they have started to melt.

Old 01-09-2010, 07:37 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts

IrishXType, both of the posts above are on the right path. Our cars are subject to numerous problems associated with the headlights. What I would suggest is putting in a new bulb and then doing a voltage check between the black wire on the low beam bulb and chassis ground. It should be down under 0.5 VDC. If you are up around 1.0 VDC or higher, then you have a ground wire issue and the fix is simply adding a new ground wire.