X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gas Mileage

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2010, 05:13 PM
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Smile Gas Mileage

I have read several post on the gas mileage these cars get, some as high as 30mpg. I am lucky I get 21mpg on a highway trip and 18mpg to 19mpg around town. I have a 2003 2.5L automatic with 17inch wheels and the other standard stuff. The car has only 24K miles on it. I am a very conservative driver and have used the sport mode once. Any comments?

Old 09-07-2010, 07:11 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I would say that's about the kind of mileage I was gettiing with my 02 2.5 automatic x-type, highway was always 25, and in town 17 to 21. About a week ago I put in some injector cleaner. To my surprise it made a large difference, I've always been a machanic since I was 12, just turned 57. I've always to my friends and customer to keep there injectors clean, I never listen to my own advice. The difference in mileage was so good, I was really surprised. I've been getting 6 miles more per gallon. I now get 30 to 31 on the highway and around town I haven't gotten less than 22 MPG. Just a suggestion, try going down to a half a tank of gas put a bottle of injector cleaner in and see what happens. I always reset my mileage everytime I fill up, the first fill up after the cleaner was put in the first 20 miles I was showing 39.8 MPG the rest of my driving since has all been around my area, which is a lot of mountains and I'm running any where from 22 to 27. Try it, never could hurt to see if there's any gum up in the injectors. Hope this helps your mileage.

Old 09-07-2010, 07:31 PM
ud
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts