Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

jaguar x type maintainance

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2014, 06:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default jaguar x type maintainance

Hello,
I am looking to buy a 2005 x type 3.0, got a decent deal on it low moleage too i am a student. been told the maintainance is expensive and the car has transmission issues how true are these. What else do i have to look for in the car before buying it and what else do i have to know??

Old 06-11-2014, 07:39 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

ramsey, first off, welcome to the Forums. Please stop by the New Member section and tell us a little bit about yourself. This will also give you a chance to meet those that make this place what it is. We like to get to know one another and this you will find makes this place a lot different than other car groups you will see.

As for maintenance, it can and cannot be more expensive. The question is how good are you with cars. Can you do the work yourself? If so, then it won't be any more expensive than other vehicles. You are going to rely on a mechanic to do the work for you, then when they see the kitty on the hood, the price can potentially go up.

As for problems, the tranny really isn't the issue. It is more the transfer case. You drive sensibly, you are golden. You drive it like a sports car, well, it is going to get expensive. LIght to light "racing" is hard on the car and it will let you know.

The other "issue" is the car seems to suffer from vacuum leaks. Now, before you think this is a deal buster, we know what they are and most are very easy and cheap to fix. Even a 5 year old can fix most of these issues with our help.

The following users liked this post:
ramsey14 (06-12-2014)
Old 06-11-2014, 08:38 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Thermo is spot on. I, too, am new to X-Type ownership, but have tried to educate myself on problems/weak spots with these cars.