X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice on gasket problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2017, 09:59 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Need advice on gasket problem

My 2004 xtype 3.0 is losing coolant extremely fast and could this mean a dreaded cracked block or head could this still mean that my gasket is blown this is a timely matter that I need to address as soon as possible as I am in the car dealing buisness and I want to sell this car it is in beautiful shape except this problem and with this problem I will take a loss on the car if I can only sell it the way it is im a DIY mechanic but something as major as this I would need to enlist help to change the engine as I don't have the right equipment but a gasket fix as long as my head isn't warped I could do if anyone has any insight on my problem such as how to differentiate between a cracked block or head and a blown gasket it would be extremely helpful

Old 12-25-2017, 04:10 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,317 Likes on 1,004 Posts

My first question would be have you overheated the engine recently?
Second have you done a pressure test of the cooling system after it has sat over night? If you haven't that would be my first step in figuring out where the coolant is going.
The cooling system is a low volume/high velocity type and it doesn't take much of a leak to lose the coolant quickly.A big failing point in the system is the TEE in the upper hose assembly. The plastic cracks from all of the hot/cold thermal cycling.
If you can't fin any leaks then remove the spark plugs and look for ones that appear to be steamed cleaned. That will be the head that is leaking. If you have cracked the block I would think you would find a nice water/oil emulsion in the crankcase.

The following users liked this post:
NBCat (12-25-2017)
Old 12-26-2017, 03:41 PM