X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help w/noise from engine...

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2009, 03:21 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Need help w/noise from engine...

Newbie here.. thanks up front for any advise you can offer.

Wifes car is an xtype 3.0 awd / 2003.

Upon start up, it makes this weird noise like a bearing thats gargeling water. I'm thinking the water pump but dont even know where to start with her car.

the noise seems to be coming from the drivers side of the engine. this noise is present whether parked or driving and it is speed sensitive meaning it changes tone as the engine increases in rpm's.

We purchased the car about a yr ago. It had roughly 100K on it and had recently had the tranny replaced. (I considered it a positive to have an almost new tranny in the car). Prior owner stated it was replaced under warranty at a Jag dealer which I was able to confirm.

Anyway the noise is annoying and the car sounds sickly!!!

Thanks,
Andy

Old 03-04-2009, 05:19 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

You must be able to identify the noise. Probably is the water pump idler bearing. Mine was also noisy and speed sensitive and I've replaced the tensioner. These are the moving parts in the driver side.

Old 03-04-2009, 10:08 PM
Default What do you mean??

I must be able to identify the noise?????

If I could identify the noise I wouldn't be asking for advise....

Thanks alot!!!

Old 03-04-2009, 10:46 PM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

It's the timing chain tensioners if it does it when the car is not moving and is cold. Not a big deal now but the fragments in the oil could destoy you engine. Just a thought. Mines been doing it but a magnetic filter and drain plug Is good insurance until you replace it.

Old 03-05-2009, 01:59 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

lmao!

Old 03-05-2009, 11:56 AM

Just to re-clarify...

the noise is there while stopped or moving. the noise is coming from the engine and is rpm sensative.