X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New alternator blown fuse 82

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2017, 09:01 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New alternator blown fuse 82

Hi everyone. I'm new to owning a jaguar. Never worked in one till I had to do an engine swap on this one (2002 x type 3.0 manul). I have been searching your forums for a?while to get answers I need. (Been my biggest help!) My current issue is I just installed a new alternator let it run in the drive way for about an hour while fixing other small issues. I drove it about a block and the light popped in. After checking fuse 82 and finding it was popped I tried to replace it with the key on and it would immediately. I took my multimeter and checked both leads to the fuse and It showed a voltage So I new there was a short. So I unplugged the alternator (brand new) and replaced the fuse (this was a few day later got busy) and the fuse didn't blow. Is it safe to assume the new alternator is faulty or did I miss something?

Old 11-14-2017, 10:32 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Blindman, first off, if you measured the field with a normal multimeter, it will read a very low resistance. So, that is actually fairly normal. As for why the fuse blew when you put in the new fuse is that you had the ECU trying to raise the voltage and it had the field voltage at maximum. With the extremely low field resistance and the "high" voltage coming from the ECU, that would generate enough current to cause the fuse to fail. Where the problem comes is when the field winding is spinning, it is also acting like an alternator and it is putting some resistance into the wire, therefore reducing the current that can flow. Hence why all is good now. I don't want to get into much more detail than this as you start getting into electrical theory and it can make your brain hurt if you are not familiar with things.

Old 11-14-2017, 03:46 PM