Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New! Could use some knowledge!

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2011, 07:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New! Could use some knowledge!

Hello All!
Though I am not new to cars, I am new to the world of Jaguar's.
I have been looking at many different kinds of cars, (all awd), and my grandfather actually suggested the x-type to me...

So to start off! I found a 03 2.5 5speed x-type in town for $9600, it has 61K miles, all stock except tinted windows.

He says that he had every fluid changed, and all the brakes done, and the 60k mile tune up done. What does this include?

When he started it I heard the belt make a slight squeak, but after it warmed up it was gone...Drove great. Lots of power! (I drive a 02 taurus now)
Love the car! Want it, but the blue book says its only worth $6700...is this acurate?

Also, some poking around has shown me that the diff's on the x-type cant take much abuse, is this true? I wanted to due some modifications and such, and I do redline it sometimes for fun, but if this is true then I might steer away

So any input would be helpful, thanks!

Old 06-11-2011, 10:18 PM

oh wait, I meant transfer case. LoL not diff...

Old 06-12-2011, 05:49 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts

whatwas, first off, asking $9600 for that car is pretty high. I would pass on this car unless the dealership/seller is willing to come to to something under $7000. yes, the car has low miles, but with the newer cars, anything under about 150,000 miles is still good as the motors are capable of going out to 300,000 miles with regular maintenance.