Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Right side rear fog delete?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2010, 12:10 AM
Veteran Member
Received 115 Likes on 83 Posts
Default Right side rear fog delete?

Having lived overseas much of my adult life, I've grown accustomed to using the rear fog lights on my VWs, Mercedes, and Volvos. They tend to have just the left side illuminated. This has the benefit of not looking like brake lights to less worldly drivers on North American roads. I know that for some reason the UK tends to illuminate both sides (it does get extra foggy there in parts and their population is used to it), but I think having one light makes more sense.

I'm new to this Jag thing, but if I remove the right bulb, is it Jaguar/British motoring sacrilege? Either way, I'll do it, but I'd like to hear your opinions.

Old 03-18-2010, 02:30 AM
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

If you remove the RHS bulb, you'll fail the MOT, if the light is fitted it must work, cars with only one fog light fitted have it fitted on the RHS in the UK a quick google reveals this handy page, apparently the MOT test ONLY checks for a RHS or centre rear fog light, so the manufacturers are overdoing it themselves.
http://www.motuk.co.uk/manual_110.htm
scroll to bottom of the page

Although I tend to agree a single low level fog light would at least stop them from looking like brake lights, especially with the numpties riding around with them on in rain.

Last edited by djdex; 03-18-2010 at 02:38 AM.
Old 03-18-2010, 08:22 AM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by djdex
If you remove the RHS bulb, you'll fail the MOT, if the light is fitted it must work, cars with only one fog light fitted have it fitted on the RHS in the UK a quick google reveals this handy page, apparently the MOT test ONLY checks for a RHS or centre rear fog light, so the manufacturers are overdoing it themselves.
http://www.motuk.co.uk/manual_110.htm
scroll to bottom of the page