Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Too many issues, need some major help

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2014, 01:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Too many issues, need some major help

Okay, so here is some background.
1) I'm a younger female college student, so my knowledge about cars and fixing things is limited. When explaining something, please dumb it down/use explicit detail.
2) I have a 2002 X-Type with 114K miles

Issues I'm having:
1) My vinyl is "shrinking" as my dad says. I have to park outside, and often times in full sun, causing the vinyl on my dashboard above the passenger side defroster vent to buckle up under neath it and pull away. What can I do to fix this? What can I do to prevent this in the future? Do I need to replace my entire dashboard? Is this going to cause major issues down the road?

2) When I get my car washed, the passenger side floor gets wet. I went to a glass shop that I thought was reputable since they helped glue my rear view mirror back on after the glue basically gave out. They said that the leak was coming from my sunroof and that it wasn't properly closed, and when they push the button to close it, it doesn't close all the way, as if something might be blocking it, and that I might have to go to the dealership to get the button reset since they didn't see anything blocking it. They then said that they closed the sunroof all the way and that if it was still leaking water than the only solution is to seal off the entire sunroof. What the hell? That can't be right. And yes, there is still water leaking onto the passenger side floor.