X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tweeter mounting location?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2008, 07:34 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tweeter mounting location?

Hi all, newbie here but have been lurking around the roadfly xtype forum for a while (whereI also posted this question this morning). I didn't realize this forum existed and found a ton of useful info already.

Has anyone had any success in flush mounting a tweeter in the black triangular plastic trim, (in the front corner above the door panel)? I have the non premium stereo (with just the 4 speakers in the doors) and do not have factory tweeter mounting locations. Without pulling the door panel off, I can't tell how much space (if any) is behind the black triangular part. Most flush mount tweeters require about an inch of space. That looks like the only logical place to put them. I'm looking at the Polk db6501 6.5" 2-Way Components for the front and Polk db651 6.5" Coaxials for the rear doors with an amp and a sub in the trunk. I don't want boom,(I'm a late 30's financial advisor)just very good, tight sound quality.

I have searched here and saw one thread where the tweeters were mounted in that location, but not flush.

Thanks for any help and thanks for the great info here,
Paul
02 X 3.0 Sport

Old 04-30-2008, 10:35 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Tweeter mounting location?

I think ironcobra was the one that added them in that spot but I don't think he flush mounted but he definitely would have if he was able to. You could try fiberglassing to that part of the black plastic to make it look like one.