X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Worst Day w/ my X-Type: Need Your Help (Leaper)

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2010, 07:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Worst Day w/ my X-Type: Need Your Help (Leaper)

Ok, let's get this out of the way; I'm a college student. I park in an empty parking spot on this packed campus, I come back to my car and see these cats around my car with a black car behind it saying it's "Private Parking, BRO, we're towing your car, the tow truck will be on it's way". There was NO signs saying private parking entering the lot or where I parked. So I tried to reason with them, they didn't budge. Long story short, 10 mins past, tow truck still doesn't show, I put my Jag in AWD & drove over the parking block in front of me and get away. (F*CK THEM!) I get to my destination and check the front of my car and see minor scratches + the leaper dislocated. I still have possession of it, thankfully it didn't fall off. Now is there any way that I can reinstall the leaper? It's bad enough I have to go get my car painted because of the scratches, but spending $500 for a new leaper & installation is something I'm looking to avoid at ALL COST.
P.S. I checked the site already for ways to install the leaper, but it never fails to see the thread get way off topic.
Can somebody give me instructions on how to reinstall this? Thanks.

-Q. Blaze

Old 09-07-2010, 07:37 PM

you just pop the hood open and screw the leaper on

Old 09-07-2010, 07:41 PM

Tried that, called the dealership, they said that since the leaper came off due to the metal band breaking, it cannot be used. I'm hoping this is a lie in the end. Will showing a picture of the leaper and the part that goes under the hood help?

Old 09-07-2010, 07:51 PM

so the part that screws on broke off or the triangle thing it all sits on?
yeah pics would be good.