X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

X Type Spinning Wheel Stud Advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2014, 07:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default X Type Spinning Wheel Stud Advice

Hello All, I have a 2002 x type 2.5 sport which I really love. Have an issue with a spinning wheel stud. It was spinning with the lug nut still attached. I was able to get the nut removed with PB blaster, a vise grip on the back of the stud and some brute force. I got lucky I think.

My question now is, what is the best way to replace the stud? can it be done without removing the wheel assembly? If I remove the wheel, caliper, and rotor will that give me enough access to remove it?

I am a below average home mechanic to be honest. Thank you all for your suggestions.

Old 07-07-2014, 06:37 PM
Received 36 Likes on 30 Posts

Yes, you can replace wheel studs without removing the hub assembly. I've done it on the front and rear wheels because of galled/seized studs. I don't recall any special tricks or issues with this job. I believe I just used a large hammer to drive out the old stud and a conventional (non-hooded) lug nut installed backwards (i.e., with the tapered side facing out) over a washer to pull the new stud into the hub flange. You may have to rotate the hub to a particular position to allow for enough clearance behind the hub to remove/install the stud.

I bought replacement wheel studs and hooded lug nuts for a Lincoln LS at NAPA Auto Parts. The studs are a little bit longer than the original Jag studs, but work just fine. The hood (stainless cover) on the lug nuts are shaped slightly differently but are otherwise identical. I also applied anti-seize on the studs to prevent future seizing. Some folks will the studs should remain dry, but I was getting tired of changing seized/galled studs.

Old 07-08-2014, 01:14 AM
Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
Wink

Originally Posted by MarkC