XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Help ON 5.0 SC Engine

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2018, 12:17 AM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Help ON 5.0 SC Engine

Hello every one
This is my first day as a member I read a lot but I do need your help. I just bought my second Jag it's a 2011 XFR 75K mils on it. My first Jag XJR 04 was last month so I am still very new to the family
I really need your help on some stuff but mostly on the engine components. I want the car to last at least another 75K mils +. I Hope and pray.

1. I know that there was some 5.0 engine components problem on the 2010,2011,2012 models. I heard they resolved it on the 2013 + what was the upgrades??..

2. I know there was a water pump and engine plastics failure or you need to change theme for 60k miles +. So pleas I need all the parts name and number that need to be changed and if there is an upgrade components it will be better for me. It doesn't mater if it looks OEM to me as long it functions better that's what I am looking for.

Also if there is any tips to keep an eye on any car parts or coming failure pleas do not hastate to let me know.
I am willing to spend a good amount of money on new parts
The XFR will be in a very hot city 132 F so I don't wanna see it over heating in summer.
Thanks

Old 02-05-2018, 12:55 AM
Received 125 Likes on 115 Posts

The water pump and plastic water pipes are fragile.

The other issue is the supercharger drive isolator “spring”. There is an aftermarket Eaton part that replaces the spring with a solid coupler. Not really damaging to the SC but gets noisey.

The rest of the engine is pretty solid. Keep an eye on oil consumption, and the early timing chain guides can be problematic.

The following users liked this post:
ariba (02-06-2018)
Old 02-05-2018, 11:53 PM
Veteran Member
Received 469 Likes on 279 Posts

Originally Posted by ariba