XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

2004 XJR Radiator Leak

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2014, 03:00 PM
Veteran Member
Received 315 Likes on 191 Posts
Default 2004 XJR Radiator Leak

Well, I noticed small coolant leaks under the car yesterday and decided to pressure test the system and check for leaks. It looks like it is leaking from the right hand side of the radiator (passenger side) but cannot tell exactly where. My suspicion is a cracked plastic header.

I used an old Edelmann No.98 Quick connect hand pump connected to a EverTough adapter 67086-A. This set-up worked really well.

I am planning to remove the radiator and have a better look. Since this is my first attempt at this car on a radiator retrofit, if you have any words of wisdom, I am all ears.

Attached Thumbnails 2004 XJR Radiator Leak-img_8965small.jpg   2004 XJR Radiator Leak-img_8968small.jpg  
Old 01-18-2014, 10:01 PM
Veteran Member
Received 737 Likes on 465 Posts

Check the Aux coolant pump
I had the same and it turned out to be the body seal in the pump

I just bypassed the pump as a quick fix and have not got around to putting in a new pump as it not needed in the Sydney Summer

PS I only managed to find it using and inspection camera. Let the car cool and all the leaked fluids evaporate. IE leve it overnight then go over everything look for the milky red stain left over from the leak. My pump was leaking between the body and the pump. So i could never have spotted it without the camera

Cheers
34by151

Last edited by 34by151; 01-18-2014 at 10:03 PM.
Old 01-19-2014, 09:01 PM
Received 14 Likes on 6 Posts

My apologies, but what is an aux coolant pump for, and where is it located?

Old 01-19-2014, 10:21 PM
Received 164 Likes on 104 Posts

Originally Posted by Lagonia