XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Front brake pad installation

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2009, 03:37 PM
Received 102 Likes on 49 Posts
Default Front brake pad installation

Hey guys, I just picked up a set of pads from Brake Performance and really need to install them.

I called many of my local shops and even a couple 25+ miles away and I was always given the same answer: "We do not install customer parts or liability/insurance reasons"

I now have a set of pads that I need to install myself. I have never done a brake job before and after searching the forums for quite some time, I have only seen threads that make me half-way comfortable. This thread may be the best...but even with the information given, I am still wanting more information:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...e+installation

Could any members or techs give me a step by step guide on how to install brake pads? This thread could potentially become a sticky so other users can use it as a guide!

The car is a 2004 XJR and I would really love to have the job done by the end of the day!

Old 09-26-2009, 04:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Brakes are the easiest thing besides fluids.

Remove the wheel.
Remove the caliper pin
Remove the caliper from the rotor
Remove the old brake pads from the caliper
depress the caliper piston
insert the new brake pads in the caliper the same way the old ones were in there.
Replace the caliper on the rotor.
re-insert + tighten the caliper pin.
Pump your brakes!!!!!

Back on the road.

Old 09-26-2009, 09:27 PM
Thumbs up Installed!

Dullah, the Brembo system is a bit different than what you listed. Here is what I did.

2004 XJR Front Brake Job Steps:

First, located your brake fluid reservoir and open it!

1. Place the car on jackstands and remove the wheels.
2. Locate the two pins on the top of the caliper (right above each piston)
3. Place a towel between the pin and your hammer and hammer until the pin is flush with the face of the caliper.