XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Hi again

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2023, 01:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi again

Hi All

I am now the very proud owner of a very well cared for 2004 XJR which I collected saturday, but being a realist I am totally aware that owning a 19 year old perfomance car doen't come with out its issues.
Currently as known when I picked it up were the central door locking spordaic operation, reversing sensors on as soon as its in reverse, powerfolds and the drivers window doesn't do anything all the others ok. None of these worry me to much I will be taking out the DDM and cleaning all the contacts and checking it out in general. I'm an electrical engineer and being of a certain age of having to do your own spannering I'd like to think I'm fairly adept at taking it apart and putting it back together with no spare washers or bolts 😜.
However there is one thing I wan't expecting, that being the weird steering when its cold, it feels like theres a fully flat tyre and its very snatchy. I never noticed it when I test drove it and it was fine by the time I drove the 60 miles home from picking it up. After doing a search here its brought up everything from battery voltage, slipping belts and bad fluid.
None of which will be a problem as I will be planning a full refurb of the car including full fluids change all fiters as this will be my daily driver for the foreseeable future.
But If any of you have any other ideas I would greatly appreciate the info

Cheers

Tubs

Old 02-13-2023, 02:11 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,812 Likes on 728 Posts

I am supposing the XJR uses the same rack as x350/x358, so you might want to check the steering assist transducer which alters the amount of power steering fluid flow to the rack depending on vehicle speed etc.
Located in the steering rack and has a two wire plug going to it. PWM controlled.

Old 02-13-2023, 02:44 AM

Cheers Mark

Old 02-14-2023, 01:16 AM