XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

1995 xjr6 wont start. need help.

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2017, 06:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 xjr6 wont start. need help.

I got this car after it had been sitting up for about 10 years and am trying to get it going again. What I have done so far is clean out the gas tank and replace the entire fuel system from the fuel pumps to the injectors. Has new plugs and coils. The problem I am having is that all it will do is spin over and not try to start. I pulled the plugs and verified that all are sparking lik they should. pulled a injector and it was working. I sprayed half a can of starting fluid in the intake while someone cranked it over for me and still nothing. Am I missing something? I am new to jaguars and this thing has me puzzled. I really appreciate any help I can get.

Old 07-16-2017, 07:09 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,383 Likes on 1,087 Posts

Pull the plugs and pour a bit of oil in the cylinders turn it through a couple of turns ( plugs back in ) to get the oil in the area of interest ( the rings ) and let it soak overnight . This helps restores your compression so it will better start with that aspect .

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 07-16-2017 at 07:16 PM.
The following users liked this post:
thecaptain (07-16-2017)
Old 07-16-2017, 07:20 PM

appreciate it. I will give it a shot.

Old 07-16-2017, 07:44 PM
Veteran Member

Did you get a cylinder to fire off with the starter fluid . I heard of someone blowing their oil pan loose with too much starter fluid . urban myth ?

Old 07-16-2017, 07:57 PM

I sprayed half a can in it with someone turning it over. It never even hiccupped or made any attempt to fire.

Old 07-16-2017, 08:20 PM
Veteran Member