XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

96 XJ6 Dies randomly

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2015, 07:54 PM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 96 XJ6 Dies randomly

Hi All,

I am new to the Jaguar scene, been a mustang man just about all my life and decided to try something different. Right now, I'm kind of missing my mustang. Hope I didn’t buy a money pit… I've only had it for two weeks now and have been able to drive it for 4 days.

Here is what I bought:
A 96 XJ6, with 37K original miles, in mint condition. For $3000. I am the second owner of the vehicle and the first kept it garaged. The inside and out are immaculate, and it rides like a dream! The first owner was an older lady who hardly used it, realized this, and wanted to get rid of it.

Here’s my problem:
At any given time the car just dies. Sometimes it will start right away and sometimes it won’t. The check engine light and the Transmission limp mode light illuminate, but not all the time. So far the only codes it’s thrown are the P1775 and P0727. Sometimes the car will run just fine for hours, other times it dies multiple times in a short period of time

Here’s what I did:
  • Scoured the Internet \ Forums (That’s how I found this site)
  • Replaced the Crank sensor
  • Checked the battery (O’Rielly checked it)
  • Checked the Idle Air Bypass Valve. (Not stuck from carbon, closes all the way, moves freely)
  • Disconnected and reconnected TPS. (Just because)
  • Connected a scanner that allows real time data reading. (Figured I might be able to see something)
  • Drove the car (Hoping to see something obvious)
  • Replaced fuel pump relay (hoping it would be that simple)

Here’s what I noticed:
  • When the car dies both fuel systems 1 and 2 are open. When the car is running both are closed unless I put my foot into it. I don’t know what the scanner means when it says open.. I am guessing it means the circuit, but not sure. Any enlightenment is greatly appreciated.