XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Battery Jumper

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2016, 08:14 PM
Received 108 Likes on 82 Posts
Default Battery Jumper

I'm sure some of you have needed to jump start your car because of a dead battery. Some people still use jumper cables and booster battery boxes. Has anyone used one of the small booster packs ( like pictured ). I was wondering if it's possible to jump start our cars using one of these small jumper boxes thru the cigarette lighter socket without doing any kind of damage to the electrical system? Battery Jumper-battery-booster.jpg

Old 10-28-2016, 08:23 PM
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts

Hi
that looks like a lithium pack battery power source. I was advised by the largest roadside service in Queensland that their service people are instructed to only use the battery terminals due to the possibility of damage to the electronics in the car by using the cigarette lighter etc.
I am by no means an expert and would suggest wider research.
cheers

Old 10-28-2016, 09:48 PM
Veteran Member
Received 269 Likes on 201 Posts

I have successfully used such "power bank" on my X350 by connecting to the battery terminals when the battery became weak and unable to crank the starter. Easy, clean and handy, no need for traditional long and heavy jumper cable. There are many brands and designs out there. Go for those that have safety features like reverse polarity.

Old 10-28-2016, 10:32 PM
Veteran Member
Received 269 Likes on 201 Posts