XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Misfire intermittent when hot

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2016, 04:15 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Misfire intermittent when hot

Hi just bought this car and new to this forum so firstly hello and hope someone could shed some light I am a mechanic by trade.but this is my first jag normally I ride in an Impreza turbo.car is a 96 xjr x300 lazy starting suspect the battery.but the main problem is from cold runs fine when hot get a intermitant misfire like a coil pack.spark plugs done changed all coil packs from a xjs that I have access too with starts on the button no misfire.still I have this misfire.when driving cannot fault.apart from the high fuel usage 14miles to the gallon and less driving like Arthur Dailey. Just rectified the exhaust downpipe blow.faylt code in ecm p1178 sensor 1 bank 1 checked no leaks on intake and throttle body cleaned.would you just bite the bullet put new 02 sensor.unless anything else and would the price reg xjs 4.0 normally aspirated o2 sensor fit on mine thanks Steve

Old 04-04-2016, 04:24 PM
Received 23 Likes on 22 Posts

So you have eliminated coils and plugs. The high fuel usage indicates something. Maybe just loss of power due to the misfire. Maybe an injector gets stuck and is wasting fuel plus causing that one not to fire properly.

If it's an injector then injector cleaner in the tank (redex?) might clear it without you having to do any work.

PS mine does 20mpg (according to the trip computer) if I do a bit of A roads a bit of dual carriage way and a bit of going flat out.
If I go careful it does 22mpg.
If i did flat out everywhere then probably 12mpg.
When I first got it there were 6000 miles on the trip computer and the average MPG was 19mpg and average speed was 32mph. I feel the last owner never went on dual carriageways since my average speed is 42mph.
So 14mpg is wrong.

Last edited by wayland; 04-04-2016 at 04:29 PM.
Old 04-04-2016, 07:40 PM
Veteran Member