XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

supercharger pulley

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2013, 02:30 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default supercharger pulley

Hello. I'm new to this jaguar world. I just purchased a 1997 XJR and I'm very pleased with it. I recently changed the spark plugs, fuel filter, oil, and transmission oil, and flushed out the brake system. I think I'm ready for minor bolt-on(s). Anyone know a good pulley to buy for the supercharger without needing a tune?

And If I do need a tune, what's brand/hand tuner do people like to use these days?

Old 11-03-2013, 06:43 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

In the USA a "1997" XJR would be the 6 cylinder car. Just wanna clarify that you don't have the V8 XJR....which would be "1998" model year in the USA.

Years ago there was an outfit selling a pulley for the XJR/6 but I'm nearly positive that they discontinued it...presumably due to lack of demand. To be honest, the couple people I knew that had one ended up returning to the stock pulley as the increased supercharger RPM heated the air charge beyond the intercooler's ability to cool it.

There might be some used ones floating around. An outfit in the UK had a a couple on Ebay a year or two ago.

Aftermarket support and high-performance goodies are virtually non-existant for the XJR/6.

Look for postings from "XJRengineer". He's the only one I know of that messes around with XJR/6 tuning/ECUs/programming.

You won't find any hand-held tuners/programmers for this car.

Others will chime in.

Cheers
DD

The following users liked this post:
on edge (11-06-2013)
Old 11-03-2013, 01:05 PM
Received 56 Likes on 47 Posts

Its best to take your mods in small steps, I speak from personal experience.