XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

1999 xjr bottom end gone after rebuilding heads

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2017, 05:59 AM
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default 1999 xjr bottom end gone after rebuilding heads

Good morning all! I am new to this site so I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Stan . I'm married with 4 boys. I live in landenberg Pennsylvania and I am a remodeling contractor.
I bought a 99 xjr in February dirt cheap with the intention of fixing it up for my wife for a valentine's day gift. The car has 190k on the clock which I know is high but the car was garage kept and cosmetically very nice. The car had a restricted performance code during the drive home so i drove it to my mechanic. It had a misfire that would shake your hands off the steering wheel at idle.
He started working on it and after swapping plugs coils and injectors finally pulled the right head off to see what was causing the miss. I had an opportunity to get another low mileage motor so i suggested we just swap. He insisted that he could just fix what i have and I would be in great shape. Several months and several thousand dollars later I
finally got to drive it home. Heres what I had done
Rebuilt heads
new chains and tensioners
new plugs
new rear wheel bearing
rear brakes and rotors
new tires.

NOW. after suggesting that we just replace the motor on several occasions, I developed what I believe to be a wrist pin bearing noise. The mechanic was very concerned and bummed out and stands behind his work. But I'm wondering now if I just buy a new/rebuilt long block or let him.mess with this one.

I will add thatI absolutely love this car. I have driven many cars and I love driving this one more than any other. I would like to get it back to a great reliable car. Any suggestions on which direction to go now would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Stan

I

Old 05-16-2017, 07:14 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,771 Likes on 1,304 Posts