XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

2001 Jaguar XJ8 Reliability?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2011, 03:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Jaguar XJ8 Reliability?

Hi Everyone,

I'm considering buying a 2001 Jaguar XJ8 with 140 000Km on it (~87 000 Miles). I'm a student so I'll be on a relatively tight budget so I'm looking into reliability and repair costs.

JD Power gave it a better than average dependability rating after 3 years (JDPower.com | XJ Series), but how would it fare after almost 10 years?

What do you guys think would be a reasonable amount of money to spend on repairs for this car over a few years?

Thanks for your help,
Scott

Old 04-12-2011, 04:26 PM
Received 51 Likes on 42 Posts

Originally Posted by BadCompany89
Hi Everyone,

I'm considering buying a 2001 Jaguar XJ8 with 140 000Km on it (~87 000 Miles). I'm a student so I'll be on a relatively tight budget so I'm looking into reliability and repair costs.

JD Power gave it a better than average dependability rating after 3 years (JDPower.com | XJ Series), but how would it fare after almost 10 years?

What do you guys think would be a reasonable amount of money to spend on repairs for this car over a few years?

Thanks for your help,
Scott

How tight of a budget and do you work on cars or depend on a mechanic?

Old 04-12-2011, 04:30 PM
Received 86 Likes on 70 Posts

Hi -
If you are a student on a budget, I would NOT recommend one of these cars. They have a number of idiosyncrasies, and are a fun hobby for someone with tools and/or money. But they are not bulletproof reliable transportation by any means. I strongly recommend something boring like a Toyota Corolla until you are out of school.

Jaguar XJ8s of this vintage suffer from:
1) potential catastrophic engine failure from "nikasil cylinder liners" if your 2001 was made early in the model year
2) potential catastrohic or near-catastrophic engine failure from "camshaft secondary chain tensioners" for XJ8s from before 2002.