XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Hoping to improve front-end refinement

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2010, 09:35 AM
Received 23 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Hoping to improve front-end refinement

Having read a number of posts on the upper front shock mount bushings (one of my orange bushings is crumbling away - the other seems ok), sway bar end-links and sway bar bushings, I thought I would invest a little money and time to try and cure - or at least improve - a couple of front-end issues with my 2000 VdP, namely 1) a vibration through the steering wheel (I had the wheels balanced a couple of weeks ago at my local shop but this has not cured the problem) - the vibration occurs at 60-65 regardless of engine revs, and I don't feel any vibration through the brake pedal if I brake during these speeds, which leads me to think it might not be the wheels but I'm no expert, and 2) a firm, metallic knock (not quite a clunk) whenever the front goes over a bump in the road (this is not a major issue but I just don't think a car like this should sound or feel this 'cheap' in such situations). The ride height and damping all seem fine, it just feels like the road imperfections are being transmitted through the various suspension linkages instead of being absorbed.

So before I get my wallet out and my hands dirty I was wondering about the following:

- Any special tools required? I have read that the upper front shock mount busshings need to be pressed into the plates with either a hydraulic press or a clamp, and our esteemed Jaguar Tech's on this forum have commented how tricky this can be. So, while I don't possess a press, I do possess a number of c-clamps, and wonder how easy/difficult/possible it would be to do with these.

- How long to do each of the tasks (I rate my auto mechanic skills as "enthusiastic amateur")?

- Which of the tasks should I expect the most improvement from?