XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

XJ8 XJR Stereo System

Old 04-24-2014, 03:39 PM
Received 39 Likes on 25 Posts
Default XJ8 XJR Stereo System

I start this post because on this forum a lot of people want to change the original sound system with a new one or better.
I found that in real life what is new is not always better.

Another hobby that i have is High End audio sound systems and good quality music listening, so my expertise in this area is not zero. I work in IT and Home Audio business.

First time when i listen in my car after i buy it using my good recording CD i was very impressed, i have the regular sound system on my XJR so i start to make some digging about the speakers, the head unit and the CD changer.

Until now i found that the regular audio system has Paper cone and Rubber Surround, the Alpine mid woofers that are in Premium sound system are also Paper cone but Foam Surround so those speakers after 10 year of use in an humidity environment the foam Surround must replace .
I do not know the sound quality differences between the normal and Alpine speakers but the construction of the regular speaker has an advantage.

To play a good quality music in the Jag is not so difficult. You must use all correction to middle (i call zero) and to have good recordings on your CD changer.
All mp3 player are bullshit, mp3 files has only one advantage are small so why to change the old system with player that can not play lossless files? only because we can store a lot of mp3 music files on small devices?
I must say that in my opinion the best music suitable for this system is Classical, Jazz, Blues, Rock and Disco in this order.

On this days if you want a good Navigation system, buy a smart phone, is cheaper and you can upgrade the maps more easy at low cost.

I like the way he looks the central console, no offense to those people who already change the design of the interior by replacing the head unit with an after-market one.