XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

1990 Jaguar Xj40 no crank no start

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2013, 09:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 Jaguar Xj40 no crank no start

Im new to jaguar and have a 1990 (the sticker on the door says 1/90), went to start it and nothing. I thought it was a dead battery but replaced it and still nothing, no lights nothing on dash at all. The only thing im getting is an audible sound that changes tone when changing the headlight switch. Im not new to cars but this just baffles me. I looked under the steering wheel and I see the jaguar security system and a bunch of white wires connectors with tags interconnecting between colored wires and and a yellow 2 wire connector thats not connected, any help would e greatly appreciated

Old 06-13-2013, 02:55 AM
Veteran Member
Received 687 Likes on 590 Posts

Welcome to the Forum.
Please take time to visit
New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum
and introduce yourself so we can all say 'Hello'
If ignition independent things like sidelights don't work then it's not a security thing.
If you look in the HOW TO's at the top of this section and follow DOWNLOADS you'll find some useful info.
Then it's out with the voltmeter and find the bad connection !

Old 06-13-2013, 09:37 AM
Received 248 Likes on 170 Posts

Chance,

Sounds like a problem I had not long ago.

Does the vehicle start with a boost or jump start?