XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

Troubleshooting - No Start

Old 01-12-2012, 03:20 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Troubleshooting - No Start

Hello all.

I've just joined the forum in the interest of helping my girlfriend get her '90 XJ6 running and keeping it in good running condition.

I've got plenty of mechanical experience with cars up to about 1978 but very little experience with anything as electronics-dependent as these Jaguars are.

- At the moment the car will turn over and occasionally will catch during turning over but doesn't come close to running.

- When I turn the key I can hear the pump engage and then disengage which I understand is normal?

- I have checked and cleaned the cap and rotor.

- Battery is fully charged.

I still need to check on injector operation with a stethoscope and check that the inertia switch hasn't tripped.

I've read a lot of posts here on no-start scenarios and the CSP issue comes up a lot. When I crank the engine the tach jumps up to maybe 100 rpm. Does that indicate that the CPS is working? Is there another way to check it, e.g. continuity with a multimeter?

In the posts that I've read I've seen a lot of partial troubleshooting suggestions but I'm wondering if anyone has posted a comprehensive no-start troubleshooting guide.

Looking forward to seeing what you guys come up with!

Chops

Old 01-12-2012, 05:46 PM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

There are a few things it could be but if it has gone from running fine to suddenly not wanting to start it could be the ignition module which is located under the coil, small black box with plug attached. First check that it's tight (has to be tight to properly earth), if it is then find a replacement.

Old 01-12-2012, 05:49 PM

Thanks Leigh. I'll add that to the list of things to check next time I'm over there.

The car was (apparently) running just fine and then one day decided not to start.

Old 01-13-2012, 01:34 PM

In the meantime:

1. Is there a way to test the CPS?