XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

VCM says "FUSE 1"

 
  #1  
Old 03-17-2019, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NE Ohio, USA
Posts: 151
Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default VCM says "FUSE 1"

My VCM display seems to be stuck on a "FUSE 1" failure. I can hit the Reset button and it will show the mileage for about 2 - 3 seconds but then returns back to the "FUSE 1" on the display.

This afternoon I individually pulled each fuse in the right hand fuse panel and I did find one 15amp fuse that was blown so I replaced that fuse but late this evening I drove the car to the gas station to get gas and found the display was still acting the same way. VCM says "FUSE 1", hit reset button, displays mileage for 2 - 3 seconds and then returns to "FUSE 1" message.

Is there some other way to clear this code? Is there something else I need to look at? Is this a semi common issue?
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-2019, 02:30 AM
Robman25's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Auckland
Posts: 801
Received 184 Likes on 163 Posts
Default

You need to recheck all the fuses for continuity, they can sometimes look good but still have failed. Use an ohm metre fr best results.
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (03-18-2019)
  #3  
Old 03-18-2019, 09:57 AM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Beautiful Mid-South, U.S.A.
Posts: 16,528
Received 7,573 Likes on 4,230 Posts
Default

Hi Steve,

In addition to the fuses in the right hand fuse box, I think I recall that a common cause of the FUSE 1 or CIRCUIT 1 warning is a short in the cigar lighter circuit, so you might check for voltage at the ligher socket. Also, IIRC, the inline fuse behind the radio can trigger that warning.

Please let us know what you discover, and since VCM messages can vary by model year, it would help if you edited your signature to add the year and model of the Jag(s) you're inquiring about so we don't have to try to remember or guess.

Cheers,

Don
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Don B:
Lawrence (03-18-2019), MountainMan (04-04-2019)
  #4  
Old 04-01-2019, 05:10 PM
jerry_hoback's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan City, Indiana
Posts: 1,797
Received 374 Likes on 306 Posts
Default

I would add, if its not too late, fuses don't usually blow for no reason. I would go back directly to the one you found bad the first time and check that circuit for a problem. There is a general description of the circuits of a given fuse in the cover that you remove to get at them. Otherwise youll just be changing the same fuse over and over.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Lawrence
XJ40 ( XJ81 )
4
11-13-2014 11:56 AM
SirJag
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
37
02-10-2013 03:17 PM
bicol
XJ40 ( XJ81 )
5
12-11-2012 10:14 AM
Mayor111
X-Type ( X400 )
21
10-30-2010 08:58 AM
wnlewis
XJ40 ( XJ81 )
1
02-09-2009 10:47 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: VCM says "FUSE 1"


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: