XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

XJ40 4ltr Sovereign 1990 RHD - Fails to start

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2013, 09:34 AM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default XJ40 4ltr Sovereign 1990 RHD - Fails to start

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the Jag Forum and have posted on new member page,
My car is a 1990 XJ40 4ltr Sovereign RHD in Solent Blue, it is close to concours condition and I have owned it for 19 years.

Since retirement and moving home some 7 years ago our dear car has been weather protected in an outdoor Carcoon. When last started 18 months ago it went first go, since then its been safely tucked up in the Carcoon, I removed it two days ago and sadly it would not start.

Investigation has shown that no fuel is reaching the rail during cranking with the feed slackened off, maybe it's a pump fault or something else.

I've added 4 gallons of top grade petrol and still no fuel reaches the rail.

Checking the VCM I've had various and seemingly random indications as follows:
1st check: 'Fuse 1,2,3,5,PRO, FAIL'. 2nd check:'Fuse 6; 3rd check: 'Fuse 5 Fail'; 4th check: 'Fuse 5';

All fuses that I can find in both 'A' posts are not relevant - so I'm stumped as to the problem. I have yet to check the pump using a separate power supply - this means jacking and crawling about which at 75 might try my coronary stents a little.
I've done over 50,000 miles during ownership and the car has never given cause for complaint - even when towing our caravan.

I have the official Service Manual on CD and looking at Fault Descriptions (Engine Management - 4.0) page 18.2-11 codes start at 11 through to 89 none of which are relevant to the VCM indications shown.

If anyone can shed some light on this I would be more than grateful.

Jim

Attached Thumbnails XJ40 4ltr Sovereign 1990 RHD - Fails to start-image.jpg  
Old 05-19-2013, 02:10 PM
Received 248 Likes on 170 Posts

Jim,