Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1982 xj6 questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2012, 08:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1982 xj6 questions

Hey all,

Seems like 82 xj6 info is not all that common.

I'm new to jaguar forums, just started account today. I bought a gold 82 xj6 about 2 months ago, have been using it to go back and forth to school. It's not in the best condition but it is definitely reliable (for now). fyi I am a poor college student. Can't necessarily afford the owner's manual at the moment.

I do have some questions concerning repairs/use:
Was not aware the car had electric door/trunk locks. Found out after I washed it and the doors then continually tried to lock themselves (fixed after it sat for a night). How do I use these electric locks?

This caused another problem, locked trunk. The previous owner drilled out the trunk lock for whatever reason, and after the locking episode I can't open it.
Any suggestions?

I am also having a wiper issue. Occasionally I can flip the switch, hear a click, and the wipers move a little. The rest of the time is nothing. Is this a wiper motor problem or something else?

Last question: I hit the gas and there is a delay of engine activity. The rpm's will go way down and then back up to the correct amount. If I am on a hill it usually rolls backwards a bit and sometimes if I hit the gas hard enough from a stop it just dies. Fuel injection?

Thanks!

Old 11-07-2012, 01:22 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Originally Posted by hofmann308
Was not aware the car had electric door/trunk locks. Found out after I washed it and the doors then continually tried to lock themselves (fixed after it sat for a night). How do I use these electric locks?

It's a central locking system operating from the lock mechanism in the driver's door (and possibly the passenger door....but this capability was eliminated around 1982 so you might not have it).