XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'86 XJ 6 Idle Quality

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2013, 02:01 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default '86 XJ 6 Idle Quality

Hi, I got the dead cylinder going: #3 was not firing, and there was no spark when I laid an old plug on the cam cover and started the engine. I checked the resistance and got about 16K.
Anyway I was tired of waiting: the idle was steady, but for the dead #3 and it did not die, so I backed it out of the drive and went down the street. Right after it shifted into 2nd I felt the dead cylinder come in, heard the exhaust note smooth out, and from then on it was OK. I drove about 1/2 mile and turned around; when I parked in the drive, it idled OK; no more dead cylinder, but still not as smooth as I expected, but I have no experience with how these engines should idle.
Sounds like there may be something to that "Italian tune-up".
Oh, well, the water pump drips some, so I'll order one.

Old 05-18-2013, 02:46 AM
Received 10,312 Likes on 6,822 Posts

Idle smoothness on all teh S3 6 cyl i have been involved with has always been very good.

Many things come to play, as with any engine:

Spark plugs, gapped correctly
Timing, and all the associated components
Tappet clearances
Vac leaks, or lack of
Engine breather system
Fuel "pot" trim in the ECU
Cam chain timing, mainly the top chain.
Ignition coil integrity, along with all the LT wires.
HT leads including the coil lead.
Correct operating temperature.
Fuel quality

The list goes on, and any/many of them just slightly off the boil will have an affect on idle etc.

Old 05-18-2013, 11:13 AM

Car sat for the better part of 2 years; getting a little exercise is apparently helping it as it keeps getting better. I drove it to town 5 miles to get some gas and it ran good and idles ok, did not stall, etc.
No doubt injectors are less than perfect, for example. I may get a matched set and try that.
Thanks for the advice.

Old 05-18-2013, 11:32 AM