XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bonnet latch problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2018, 01:47 PM
Received 621 Likes on 320 Posts
Default Bonnet latch problems

Prior to removing the hood (bonnet) for a project it worked great. I am a pretty decent amateur mechanic and very methodical. But gosh darn it I just can't get the latching mechanism to work right. Either pops open while driving or won't release at all and have to use the screwdriver under the fender. I have read and tried everything available on the web. Removed, cleaned and oiled and adjusted, straightened the pins, etc etc. Everything. A hundred times.

So here is my current theory. The two springs on the latch pins that make it pop open a couple inches when you pull the lever are extremely strong. I removed one and measured it as 20 pounds per inch. So both of them are pushing the hood up with 40 pounds of force so if the latch is not quite right it pops open on one side or the other. That seems like way overkill. Grainger has spings the same size with half (10#) the force. Any thoughts on that?

I have literallly been trying to get it to work right for a whole year. A really simple thing for a whole year! I have held off asking for help for so long because I am so embarrassed. Anyone have a magic suggestion? I am recovering from hip replacement and might not be able to get to it for a couple weeks but looking for ideas. Thanks

Old 08-27-2018, 04:49 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,429 Likes on 1,828 Posts

since purchasing my XJ I have never ever had any problem with the hood mechanism.

In your case, I would guess the cable adjustment has something to do with the situation.

I would have someone pulling the handle as you observe the movement of the locking tab. Who knows if you find the answer there.

Old 08-27-2018, 10:24 PM
Received 176 Likes on 119 Posts

Hi Yellow,