Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bulb out indicator question

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2014, 04:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,058 Likes on 451 Posts
Default bulb out indicator question

Anyone that has been following my journey will know that i deleted my side markers, now however my bulb out indicator is lit, all remaining bulbs are lit, are these tied into that circuit and causing this? or do i just have a faulty indicator? i know this works on resistance of some kind ( im no electrician) as i had to replace all bulbs in back at one point as they were different, and putting correct bulbs in fixed my problem! ( had same issue way back in 05 when i bought car)

If by chance this is caused by missing side markers, how do i go about fixing it without reinstalling lamps?

Thanks in advance.

Old 12-14-2014, 07:08 PM
Received 41 Likes on 31 Posts

Removing the side markers will cause your problem I'd just remove the indicator bullb.

The following users liked this post:
Darrenmb (12-14-2014)
Old 12-15-2014, 09:51 AM
Received 53 Likes on 29 Posts

the bulb out indicators do work on voltage which means that if there is uneven current in a circuit, it will illuminate even if all associated bulbs and systems are working properly without burnt/inoperative illumination/bulbs. essentially, it is a test of whether or not all connceted systems are drawing evenly (with the presumption being that any anomoly would be the result of conditions which would be preventing illumination).

I would imagine a solution would be possible theorhetically (removing the connections between the side marker lights systems and the illumination bulb but in all honestly I think I agree with Saemetric and say just remove the indicator bulb - this may all be more trouble than its worth and a good once around the car with the lights on should be all you need to see what lights work and which don't.