XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

converted 1986 xj6 vdp

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2018, 10:51 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default converted 1986 xj6 vdp

hi everyone, total newbie here. i've loved the series iii xj6 since i was a kid and may finally be able to buy one. however, i live in the city (boston) and don't know much about cars (much less maintaining or repairing one myself), so am looking for something as low maintenance, as possible. for context sake, the car would be driven semi-regularly (a couple times a week) and would either be covered or kept in an unheated garage in the winter.

recently, i found an ad on craigslist for a fully converted 1986 xj6 vanden plas (https://boston.craigslist.org/bmw/ct...661394385.html) that i thought might be a good fit. the car was originally from new mexico. the seller got it in early 2000s and put in a lot work in rhode island over the following years. his whole story is laid out in the ad, but here's the gist of it (quoted from ad):

- rebuilt, blue-printed 350ci TPI engine and 700 R4 transmission from a 1987 corvette using Suncoast conversion kit.
- 1992 GM engine management computer from Camaro IROC, re-wired using Ron Francis Wiring setup (IROC and panel are mounted in trunk)
- custom oversize, multi-core radiator and a dual, heavy-duty, thermostatically controlled electric fan set-up.
- six KYB Sport Gas Shocks along with a set of four (Front & Rear) cross-drilled and ventilated rotors.
- all of the suspension bushings replaced with poly ones.
- custom made ported and polished intake manifold
- detailing of the engine compartment that included the removal of all of the emissions control components which, when the project was started, were required.
- complete set of period Coco Mats, including the trunk, custom made for me by CoCo Mats of Ft. Mill, SC.