XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jaguar Ignorant

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2013, 06:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jaguar Ignorant

Hello to all (from someone who has never owned a Jaguar)
Generally I play with Pontiac Fieros, however recently my wife told me how much she would love to own a Jaguar. Now I am a mechanic and have owned many cars, but I know absolutely NOTHING about Jaguars. I believe I am lucky though because my wife is not picky, and for those who are not familiar Jags, the XJ6s look a lot alike over a wide variety of years.

So, I come here in search of knowledge and advice. We are looking at the 80s-90s Xj6s and I want to know what common issues are for these vehicles. Are certain years more desirable than others? At what mileage do things start to go down hill?
I am not unfamiliar with engine conversions and I would have to say that I would consider one in the future,(SBC). Are there vehicles that these conversions are easier on?
Thanks for the help that I am sure I will receive.

Old 01-21-2013, 07:29 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Hi :-)

"80s-90s XJ6s" encompasses three different cars that carry the same "XJ6" name plate :-).

An 80s vintage XJ6 could be a "Series III" or the entirely different "XJ40" type. ("XJ40" is the engineering designation often used to distinguish the later model from the earlier Series III car).

The "XJ40" type XJ6 morphed into the "X300" (another engineering designation) type XJ6. The X300 has *some* fundamental similarities to the earlier "XJ40" cars.

At the top of this section is a buyers guide which includes the Ser III cars (1980-1987). At the top of the X300 section is a buyers guide for those models (1995-1997). Both should give you some basic background.

Not sure if there's an XJ40 buyer's guide (1988-1994). Roughly speaking the '88-'89 models were known to be troublesome. The 90-94 models got progressively better.