Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Opinions Please....

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2009, 06:45 AM
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Question Opinions Please....

Repost from General Tech:

OK, I know they are like noses, everyone has one..
Here's my situation:
First off, I am new to the world of Jags (British cars, etc) but have suddenly felt very comfortable within this world. I am NOT new to vehicle mechanics, fab work, etc. I am switching from extreme 4x4 (the stuff you see on Discovery) back to my overall love of things automotive and have focused on classic British and vintage racing, topics I've been eying for a while now and have had a keen interest in (but not any involvement in) since I was much younger. I have had some experience with Land Rovers, both driving and working on them.

I was given a 77 XJ6L. Only 52,000 miles. However, it sat for about 12 years and was last started about 5 years ago. It still turns fairly easily (haven't yet attempted to fire it, was waiting to get keys from the old gent who gave it to me.. still have not rec'd them and I get that feeling I won't.. hence the thread asking about getting past the steering lock, etc).
Of course, it has rust. Literally NO floor boards left, from toe board all the way back to under the rear seat. Both lower rear wings (the section under the bumper, not the front sections); right front wing; all sills, L&R, inner/outer; front and rear valances. Back seat will need rebuild/reupholster, headlight sockets have minor rust. Jacking points are on their way out. One rear radius arm mount is showing signs of giving way as well. HOWEVER... EVERY part that is rusted is available for purchase new through several sources and would total just about a grand. The interior will need new carpets, headliner, dash pad/cover, the clear coat reapplied to wood dash (wood is in great shape though) and the rear seat as listed.