XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Strengthening bearing carrier?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2016, 04:11 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Strengthening bearing carrier?

Hi I own a series 1 xj6 and was hoping to strengthen my bearing carriers by welding a web on either side has anybody successfully done this? Im sure some of you guys are familiar with this issue but for anyone that doesn't know they crack between where the axle (upper control arm) and lower control arm meet. I was thinking of welding a 10mm solid aluminium gusset in between the other 2 original cast gussets (on outside face on carrier) running north to south and another on the reverse side (inside face of carrier). I will post a picture of both sides

of bearing carrier. I have been a professional welder my entire working life so am confident with welding and metal work in general but thought id throw it out there and see if this has been done before and what were the results? good or bad

Outside

Inside. Would weld gusset in the middle running vertically.

The following users liked this post:
ronbros (02-12-2016)
Old 02-10-2016, 05:16 AM
Received 6,317 Likes on 4,367 Posts

Welcome to the forum Matt, sorry can't help with your qustion. But I'm sure plenty of members here will be able to help.

When you get a chance post an intro in the new member area for a warm welcome.
New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Old 02-10-2016, 08:39 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,359 Likes on 790 Posts