Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Troubles Under The Hood...

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2014, 12:15 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Troubles Under The Hood...

1987 Jaguar XJ6 Base v6 4.2

This will be a long story but I'll try to partition it out as much as I can... I'm NOT A CAR MECHANIC but I do know how to turn a wrench (it just so happens to be on fixed-wing aircraft, not cars).

The Start
I bought a Jag in Tucson, AZ that hasn't been running in 5-7 years (or so the owner said). He 'performed' all the basic tune ups - oil ,transmission, power steering, new spark plugs & wires, etc etc. The car was originally purchased in California.

Some Middle Stuff
I double-checked all "tune ups" and corrected the spark plug gaping, installed 6 new OEM equivalent fuel injectors, fuel pump, dropped, flushed, and reinstalled both tanks, flushed the fuel lines from tank to fuel rail, replaced both fuel level senors & floats, new air filter, new fuel filter, new oil filter and oil, dropped, cleaned, and reinstalled the first Catalytic Converter (nearest to the engine), replaced the battery, and some other random crap.

The Now
Sometimes the car starts, moves around a bit, acts "normal". 90% of the time it hates life. From a cold start it will fight to idle and I have to give it some gas. About 2-3 minutes of that it will idle fine (around 400-600 RPM) but once it hit 60-ish C (on it's dial, anyways) it will: A) Shut off (gurgle gurgle - stop. Like it isn't getting enough fuel) B) Just suddenly stop or C) Choke a bit, then slowly lose RPM. If I try to gas it the car just stops sooner - the RPM plummets.
When I do manage to drive it a bit it REFUSES to shift to 3rd gear (I dropped the transmission pan and there wasn't any chips or other signs of metal and the fluid looked great. So I topped it back off.).
My next project it to completely remove the exhaust system, soak, clean, and reinstall it.