XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

XJ6 choking!! Plaese help

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2011, 05:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation XJ6 choking!! Plaese help

So ive been chasing an issue in my 85 xj6 for awhile now. At first issue presented itself with sluggishness and or engine wanting to die when under load, ran fine in idle. Ive gone through plugs, wires, cap and rotor, fuel pressure regulator, fuel pump, filter, vacuum lines, and just today replaced coil and resistor, also changed gauze filters in tanks. now issue has progressed to engine choking out when it gets warm or after running for about 15 to 20 min. a mechanic " Dr Jag " here in Albuquerque told me i should check the fuel temp sensor. Said it should read 250 ohms running at 90 degrees c. now since im not a mechanic if it reads higher or lower does it need to be replaced or is something else causing this issue? before i start chasing the issue again i wanted to see if i could get some feedback. Also if anyone can think of anything else that would cause this issue id be greatly appreciated.

Matthew Rinaldi
Rio Rancho NM

Old 08-29-2011, 05:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

I suspect he means the coolant temp sensor?

There IS a fuel temp sensor, though. It's the brown device on the fuel rail with two vacuum hoses. You can bypass it by running a single hose from the pressure regulator to the vacuum source. It allows max fuel pressure when the fuel is hot to prevent vapor lock.