XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1984 xjs-c v12 H E won't start!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2012, 06:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool 1984 xjs-c v12 H E won't start!!!

Hello everyone, here is the problem! Bought the car as is, long story short. I have been doing mechanical work for 40 years and always wanted one of these. I now have spark, fuel pump runs like it should. Have 45lbs pressure at pump and 36psi at return to tank on fuel rail. If I give it a shot of either starts right up then off. I used a noid light on injectors and it lights up. Listened to injector tics when started with either. It is like the injectors are not putting fuel into cylinders.I Truly believe it can't be to serious what am I missing? This thing sounds great when it runs! Could it be the ECU? The Haynes manual is very confusing. Sensor? Thanks up front for any help.

Old 11-17-2012, 06:57 PM
GGG
Received 16,761 Likes on 12,150 Posts

Welcome to the forum r3ml,

I've moved your post from General Tech Help section to the XJS section where the resident experts should be able to help you.

Hope it's something a lot simpler than the ECU.

Graham

The following users liked this post:
r3ml (11-17-2012)
Old 11-17-2012, 06:58 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,747 Likes on 7,099 Posts

As far as injectors go I don't think it gets any better than a blinking noid light and a clicking sound. That let's the ECU off the hook as I see it. I can't easily envision all the injectors being plugged solid or mechanically defective and, shoot, it oughta at least start even if only half of 'em are working.

I'm wondering about your fuel pressure and how you measured it. The pump should produce 75+psi "deadhead" pressure and regulated pressure @ the rail should be 35-40 psi (I think 36 psi is the spec....can't quite remember). Without a bit of mulling I'm not sure how to interpret 36 psi on the *return* line. Seems high to me, for a return line.

Where exactly did you take your reading?