XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1992 XJS 4.0 knocking help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2019, 11:05 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1992 XJS 4.0 knocking help!

Hi all!

I purchased a '92 4.0 XJS about a year ago as a drive able classic. It has covered 107000 miles about 3000 of those with me in the past year.

Just yesterday I took it out for the weekend and there is a rhythmic knocking sound coming from what appears to be the rear left of the car, but it is difficult to tell.

The sound starts at around 40 mph and gets louder and peaks at about 70mph. I am rather new to the whole classic car thing so please keep the answers as simple as possible! I am trying to learn!

Any advice very much appreciated.

Colin.

Old 08-25-2019, 11:55 AM
Received 75 Likes on 68 Posts

Originally Posted by Colinscat
Hi all!

I purchased a '92 4.0 XJS about a year ago as a drive able classic. It has covered 107000 miles about 3000 of those with me in the past year.

Just yesterday I took it out for the weekend and there is a rhythmic knocking sound coming from what appears to be the rear left of the car, but it is difficult to tell.

The sound starts at around 40 mph and gets louder and peaks at about 70mph. I am rather new to the whole classic car thing so please keep the answers as simple as possible! I am trying to learn!

Any advice very much appreciated.

Colin.