XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1995 XJS 6.0 Relay identification required

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2018, 03:13 PM
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Default 1995 XJS 6.0 Relay identification required

Looking for a bit of advice on a parasitic voltage drop on my 6.0 coupe. I'm no auto electrician unfortunately but since I got this vehicle a couple of months ago, there has been a draw of about 0.4amp from the battery whilst the vehicle is parked up inside and locked ( I put in a brand new battery - since found there was nothing wrong with the old one) I've looked at various methods of tracing a power leak on U-tube and learnt how to measure at the battery if there is a parasitic draw to start with. Whilst having a check around the areas of the fuse locations before starting to check for millivolt drop across each fused circuit, I took the cover off the RHS underbonnet relay bank and noticed the black relay in the picture was actually warm to the touch ( this being with the car having sat for several days without being started) I am wondering if this may be the source of the problem. It also looks like someone in the past has done a bit of amateur wiring around this relay and a couple of wires are severed and there is resistor or something attached that I do not recognise (second photo) I'd be really grateful if somebody out there knew what function this relay served and what the function of the resistor may have been for?

Black relay on RHS is warm to touch

Unknown object?

Old 12-28-2018, 06:49 PM
Vee
Veteran Member
Received 1,510 Likes on 1,176 Posts

I know what that second photo is....it’s a diode, but I’m not at home, so i cant tell you where it’s located.

i have the exact diode written down if you need that. You may want to do a search with my name and diode.

Old 12-28-2018, 07:15 PM