XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1996 XJS Jag and no cup holder

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2014, 09:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 XJS Jag and no cup holder

I've been driving my XJS for almost 2 years now. I really love this car. Its gets a lot of looks. Had a dude pull up next to me asking if I wanted to sell this car. Of course I said no. Well I should of asked for a ridiculous price.

Anyhow. The only thing that drives me nuts. There is no place to put my Starbucks drink. Or any drink for a matter of fact.

What were they thinking when they designed this car? No Cup Holder anywhere. Anyone have any recommendations for a cup holder? I remember that days when I was growing up. They use to make these plastic cup holders that you could fit into the window slot. Sure would be nice to have a place to put my drink.

David - Plano TX

Old 02-27-2014, 09:31 PM
Received 179 Likes on 142 Posts

i have a short wide coffee mug that sits well in front of the shifter. but my ski slope has quite a bit of cracking I'm seriously considering replacing it with a cup holder ski slope

Old 02-27-2014, 09:59 PM
Veteran Member
Received 435 Likes on 378 Posts
Old 02-27-2014, 10:49 PM
Veteran Member
Received 693 Likes on 562 Posts

the best solution is what malcc4d posted. most people need to replace their ski slopes anyway.

But if you need a temporary and don't wanna fork out 250-300 dollars, then there are some auto store solutions.

The best one I have found I used in an E30 BMW as well, where the cup holder slips under the floor mat. I just keep it by my leg and it doesn't get in the way. It also doesn't look terrible because it is just on the floor.

What were they thinking?? They were thinking it is 1976 and everyone smokes, but not most englishmen like to get a big gulp. Many european cars took longer to get cup holders because it wasn't a desire. The cup holder is mainly for fat assed americans who love drive-thrus

Old 02-28-2014, 12:00 AM