XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

85 XJS - Last second buy

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2012, 09:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 85 XJS - Last second buy

Hello, very new to the forum. I just wanted a bit of advice really before I jump head first into a the minefield of jaguar.
I have been looking at a quite rusty, chipped paint, rotten interior 85 xjs for some time. It has a chevy sb and th350 that run well, it stops too. Has ac.

However, I am new to jags and the dual rear shocks, inboard rear brakes are quirky and i can see taking a lot longer to change. The body has rust spots in nearly every panel and I was hoping to sand down and weld up, maybe change out panels. I dont know where to get panels from or any of the interior pieces either.

This car would be a 15 miles a day daily, and slowly restored to a standard clean look.
Any advice as the chance to buy is about to slip away.

Old 04-30-2012, 09:37 PM
Veteran Member
Received 69 Likes on 64 Posts

pass. theres plenty of cheap jags out there without a ton of rust.

Old 04-30-2012, 11:14 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

^^ What M90 said !

You can buy a decent driver quality XJS for wayyyyyyy less than buying a shoddy car and repairing the rust, re-trimming the interior, etc

Cheers
DD

Old 05-01-2012, 12:20 AM
Veteran Member

its cheaper to buy one that doesnt run and isnt rusty, than to buy one thats falling to pieces but runs good.

Old 05-01-2012, 12:25 AM
Veteran Member

if you wanna buy a beater XJS to have when your not DD'ing your nice XJS, then thats fine. but dont ever try to restore a ruined jag.

Old 05-01-2012, 02:01 PM

I do appreciate the opinions. I like the idea of the Jag style and cheap reliable chevy power. The car is going for less than 2k. However, I have seen good condition cared for xjs examples with low miles for 2.5k so, i suppose If i purchased one of these, I could swap power plant later on.