XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Electric Aux Fan and Temp sensor/switch questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2013, 08:36 AM
Veteran Member
Received 368 Likes on 302 Posts
Default Electric Aux Fan and Temp sensor/switch questions

I think my aux electric cooling fan may not be working. As I am a neophyte trainee in the realm of Jaguar systems I wanted to be sure I understand how it works.

From looking at the electrical guide it seems that a thermal switch forces a relay to close/open at certain temperatures which in turn starts/stops the fan. It appears that this is the only control of the fan operation?

My understanding is that the thermal switch is located in the top left hand side of the radiator, is that correct? Can I access it without moving the air box?

I have already confirmed that the fuse and relay are working. My plan now is to first jump pins 30 and 87 of the aux cooling fan relay and see if the fan comes on. If the fan doesn't come on, I'll check the wiring to the fan from the relay and if that is ok, I will assume the fan motor is bad and will replace it.

If the fan does operate, I'll work the other way and check the wiring to the thermal switch and the switch itself.

Does all that make sense or am I missing something?

Also does anyone know what temps the switch should turn on and off?

Many thanks,

Allan

The following users liked this post:
rsmcgee (08-16-2022)
Old 06-27-2013, 09:38 AM
Veteran Member
Received 664 Likes on 572 Posts

Hi Allen,
Makes perfect sense in what you are proposing to do.
Before putting a supply onto the motor, check the resistance of the motor with a meter. This will also give you an idea of whether the motor is good or not.

Old 06-27-2013, 10:09 AM
Veteran Member