XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Newbie with lots of questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2010, 05:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with lots of questions

Dear All,

I own a couple of classic Mercedes and have decided to add a XJ-S to this collection. I bought a 1989 V12. I am pretty good with anything electrical and mechanical (have overhauled couple dozen engines in my life).
Anyway, I am new to British cars and need all your help. My car was not driven for a while and the PO and a squirrel have rearranged a couple of things in the engine compartment. The stuff the PO has done is more disturbing as the squirrel only chewed on cables and rubber accessories (easy to sort out).
I have uploaded pictures in regards to my questions to a server and will post links below to these pics.

Q1: I have two caps on the coolant reservoir, one actually screwed on the other hanging. Other than the PO being lazy to cut the old one down, do you all see a reason for this?
http://zaruserv.uta.edu/XJS/two-caps.jpg

Q2: The space right in front of the distributor, there is a connector not connected to anything. Is this normal? If not what should it be connected to or what is missing (there is a similar connector right next to it that is connected)
http://zaruserv.uta.edu/XJS/mistery-plug.jpg

Q3. At one point the PO decided to unscrew a valve from the firewall. What is this valve for?
http://zaruserv.uta.edu/XJS/loose-valve.jpg

Q4. This is probably the most important. Close to the ABS/brake booster electronics, there is another valve. (I guess it is the one denoted as "solenoid air switch" in the Haynes book). I guess this should not be loose. Where does it need to go (i.e., attached). And what does it do? (Could anyone take a pic of theirs and post?)
http://zaruserv.uta.edu/XJS/another-loose-valve.jpg