XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Soft-top mechanics

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2012, 11:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Soft-top mechanics

Have bought myself a restoration project, and will have a lot of questions to ask later on, but right now I have a question about the soft-top mechanics.
The soft-top operates ok, starts to fold quite well, but need some physical help folding down all the way. And the same goes for folding up, needs help starting to rise. The elektro-motor revs up at the end of folding down, and at start of rising, so I guess it's all about low oil level. But I can not find any oil tank for this system. Maybe this is a closed system with just the right amount of oil present? If this is the case, is it possible to top up with oil?
I ask this silly question because I have NO experience with convertibles.

PS! The car is not converted by H&E or Lynx. I have not found who did this work, but i guess the mechanics is the same for all electric-hydraulic convertibles.

Old 08-27-2012, 01:24 PM
Received 63 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by esvanes
Have bought myself a restoration project, and will have a lot of questions to ask later on, but right now I have a question about the soft-top mechanics.
The soft-top operates ok, starts to fold quite well, but need some physical help folding down all the way. And the same goes for folding up, needs help starting to rise. The elektro-motor revs up at the end of folding down, and at start of rising, so I guess it's all about low oil level. But I can not find any oil tank for this system. Maybe this is a closed system with just the right amount of oil present? If this is the case, is it possible to top up with oil?
I ask this silly question because I have NO experience with convertibles.

PS! The car is not converted by H&E or Lynx. I have not found who did this work, but i guess the mechanics is the same for all electric-hydraulic convertibles.