XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Temporary ABS system removal - how?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2016, 11:12 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,180 Likes on 1,583 Posts
Default Temporary ABS system removal - how?

Hi all!

As I need some welding done, I want to get the ABS system removed (temp! Not for ever!).

How is the best way to remove the pedal box (auto) and the pump base? And worst of all: how would you drain the brake fluid best? I don't want to remove the ABS system for ever, as I am a fan of ABS and with nearly 300 ponies, I'd like some kind of braking help (I like to think that I am a good driver, but I don't think I would react well when it comes to pumping the brakes in an emergency situation)...

Also, what parts would I need to order new (if at all)?

Cheers

Damien

Old 10-31-2016, 03:15 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,935 Likes on 1,956 Posts

Damien,

Do you mean that you want to fit a working non-ABS system temporarily? If so, I suspect that the easiest way is to completely remove the actuator and reservoir assembly, fit a pre-ABS servo, master cylinder and reservoir and make up some pipes to fit from the new master cylinder to the current output pipes from the removed valve-block assembly to the wheel circuits. You could plug the pipes to and from the pump and leave that in situ. You'll have lights flashing as a result of the ecu thinking there's failures of the system but that won't matter if it's really necessary to drive like this.

It seems a lot of work, with implications for insurance etc etc. If you don't mind me asking, why do you need to change the system?

Cheers

Paul

Old 10-31-2016, 03:27 PM
Veteran Member

No, just want to remove all front brake system to do some rust repair work... At the same time I want to rebuild the lot...

Old 10-31-2016, 03:41 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,747 Likes on 2,597 Posts

Hi Daim