XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

White Exhaust from Dex III?

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 08:18 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default White Exhaust from Dex III?

Newbie here. I seem to have a power steering fluid leak, so recently added Dex III. Immediately thereafter, the car started emitting quite a bit of white smoke, primarily out of both pipes but sometimes one more than other. Did I screw up by adding Dex III instead of I or II? Will it cause any harm?
Thanks for any input here.

Old 11-09-2017, 08:25 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,049 Likes on 2,028 Posts

That should be fine. Dexron III is backwards compatible with I and II. Are you sure you filled the power steering reservoir? Or is the car just cold and you're starting it in cold weather? Is it really smoke, or just water vapour as cars do emit in cold weather?

Old 11-09-2017, 08:25 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,747 Likes on 7,099 Posts

You probably have a fluid leak and it's blowing back onto the hot exhaust pipes. As it burns off you get the white smoke. The p/s hoses are close to the exhaust.

Dex III if fine for the p/s system, no worries

Cheers
DD

Old 11-09-2017, 08:38 PM

Thanks for your replies. I do seem to have some fluid leaks and I think the P/S is a culprit, so it's possible that's happening.
Yes, I'm sure I'm filling the correct reservoir - had some folks verify for me before I did it.
The "smoke" does seem to be smoke (thought no noticeable odor) and does seem to dissipate after a few minutes of idle, but not totally. I'm starting it in 40s and 50s, not sure if that's cold enough for vapor?
Thanks for the Dex III confirmation.

Old 11-09-2017, 08:44 PM
Veteran Member

Yes, that's cold enough.

If the fluid is hitting the exhaust, as I speculated, it would have a burning oil smell; you could hardly miss it.

Water vapor seems a good explanation

Cheers
DD

Old 11-09-2017, 08:45 PM

Perfect - thanks, @Doug. Appreciate your help.

Old 11-09-2017, 09:09 PM
Veteran Member