Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2008 XKR Engine Rocking on Cold Start

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2017, 08:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2008 XKR Engine Rocking on Cold Start

Hi all,

I'm new to the Jag owners' scene having just 6 days ago bought a 2008 XKR. Seemed to be in reasonable nick with 62,000 miles (fine for its age) and a full Jaguar service history. The car seems to have been well looked after from the paperwork.

However, 6 days into owning the monster, I've found that it's starting to have issues. Starting from cold yesterday, the engine seemed to rock a bit, making the whole car shake. It would calm down and become nonexistent after the engine warmed up a bit.

Today, starting from cold before work, the engine shook a lot more, but again settled. Then, at lunch time, I started the car to pop back home and grab some paperwork, and the car started to rock even moreso than before, this time with the idle revs fluctuating quite sharply between (from memory) 700-1500rpm. No idea if that was the right number but it was low revs either way.

The engine fault light is now displaying in the instrument panel.

Has anyone experienced something similar? Cost of fix/is it safe to drive whilst doing this?

Ta!

Old 03-10-2017, 08:49 AM
Received 57 Likes on 42 Posts

I have had the same problem with my 07 XK occasionally when its below freezing temp outside check engine light would come on but would turn off itself around the 2nd or 3rd startup.
Cant find my code reader I know its somewhere in the house.
Just haven't taken the time to look for it so I can see what the codes are. I think this is a common Jaguar thing.

Last edited by makecopies; 03-10-2017 at 09:05 AM.
Old 03-10-2017, 08:55 AM

Originally Posted by makecopies
I have had the same problem with my 07 XK occasionally when its below freezing temp outside like around check engine light would come on but would turn off itself around the 2nd or 3rd startup.